The Briscoe Laboratory


Dr. Briscoe actively engages in one-on-one teaching of trainees in the laboratory. Also, research fellows interact with one another extensively and support each other to ensure techniques are shared and projects are successful. We have found that our “team approach” to training enables all fellows to develop a broad expertise in vascular immunobiology and transplantation immunology. We believe that interactions among research fellows from different backgrounds (undergraduate, graduate MD and/or PhD trainees) helps to ensure the high quality of research.



Laboratory Environment

There is a lab meeting every week where trainees receive group input on data. Also, all fellows and students are expected to attend a weekly research seminar series within the Division of Nephrology which exposes them to broader aspects of the research program. Trainees are also encouraged to attend the formal Harvard-wide seminars in immunology and vascular biology each week and to participate in a Journal Club.


Awards and Grants

Dr. Briscoe also encourages trainees to submit abstracts to at least one National Meeting each year and encourages competition for research training awards and grants. A summary of the research awards and grant received by Dr Briscoe's trainee's are listed below:


Mentored Research Awards and Grants


Name Year Type of Award
Mark Denton, MD 1998-2000 NRSA
National Institutes of Health (NIAID)
Michael Melter, MD 1998-1999 Fellowship Award,
Hanover School of Medicine
Markus Frank, MD 1999-2001 Novartis Fellowship Award in Transplantation,
American Society of Transplantation
Michael Melter, MD 1999 TEAM Award (Most Outstanding Abstract),
American Society of Transplantation
Michael Melter, MD 2000 Research Award,
American Society of Pediatric Nephrology
Dmitry Samsonov, MD 2000-2002 Basic Research Fellowship Grant,
American Society of Transplantation
Mark Denton, MD 2001-2006 KO8 Award
National Institutes of Health (NIAID)
Markus Frank, MD 2001-2003 Council Faculty Grant
American Society of Transplantation
Markus Frank, MD 2001-2002 Research Award
National Kidney Foundation
Gwen Boulday, PhD 2002-2003 Postdoctoral fellowship grant,
Foundation Pour la Recherche Medicale, Paris, France
Markus Frank, MD 2002-2005 KO8 award
National Institutes of Health (NIAID)
Peter Lapchak, PhD 2002-2003 Pediatric Renal Research Award,
National Kidney Foundation
Soumitro Pal, PhD 2002-2004 Basic Science Faculty Grant
American Society of Transplantation
Jesse Flaxenburg, MD 2003-2005 NRSA
National Institutes of Health (NHLBI)
Soumitro Pal, PhD 2003-relinquished Scientist Development Award
American Heart Association
Soumitro Pal, PhD 2003-2008 KO1 award
National Institutes of Health (NIDDK)
Stuart Robertson, MD 2003-2004 Pediatric Renal Research Award,
National Kidney Foundation
Marlies Reinders, MD, PhD 2004 Novartis Transplantation Award
Best transplantation paper in Holland, 2004
Best Thesis, 2004. Dutch Nephrology Congress
Alan Contreras, MD 2006-2008 Research Fellowship Award
American Society of Transplant Surgeons
Olivier Dormond, MD, PhD 2006-2008 Swiss Foundation for Grants in Medicine and Biology;
Research Fellowship Grant
Monika Edelbauer, MD 2006-2008 Austrian Science Fund
Andre Hoerning, MD 2007-2009 Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
Fellowship Grant
Sarah Bruneau, PhD 2010-2012 Fellowship Award
American Society of Transplantation
Johannes Wedel, MD, PhD 2015-2016 Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
Fellowship Grant


Mentored MD, PhD Thesis

Marlies Reinders, PhD (2000-2002)
Thesis: Mechanistic And Functional Interrelationships Between VEGF-Induced Angiogenesis, Cell-Mediated Immunity And Allograft Rejection
Defended November 2004, University of Leiden, Holland. Received "Best Thesis Award" in 2004, Dutch Nephrology Congress.

Maria Stack, MD (2008-2010)
Thesis: Non-Classical roles of VEGF and other Angiogenic factors in the development of Chronic Allograft Rejection
Defended December 2015, University College Dublin, Ireland.


T32 Program for Research Training in Pediatric Nephrology.


Dr. Briscoe is the Principal investigator of the institutional T32 that supports research training in Pediatric Nephrology. The program includes faculty mentors from broad areas of renal research located in several of the Harvard Medical School affiliated teaching hospitals. This program is exclusively for the training of permanent residents and citizens of the US. Preference is given to MD and MD PhD applicants. The NIDDK, who fund this program, also encourage undergraduate medical students to apply for a one year period of protected research training under the umbrella of the program . If you are interested in applying to the T32 program, please contact Dr. Briscoe directly.